Cancel

Vision


The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) is a non-profit service organization aimed at informing the community of the qualifications and achievements of women engineers. Its mission is to stimulate women to achieve their full potential in their careers as engineers and as leaders, to expand the image of the engineering profession as a positive force in improving the quality of life, and to demonstrate the value of diversity.
The University of Pennsylvania Student Chapter has three primary objectives: professional development, education outreach to local high school and elementary schools, and social activities for its members.
If you would like to find out more information about the Society of Women Engineers, please visit the national SWE website (refer to Resources page). There you can also find out how to apply for paid membership to the national organization.

Mission Statement:
i) To stimulate women to achieve full potential in careers as engineers and leaders.
ii) To expand the image of the engineering profession as a positive force in improving the quality of life.
iii) To demonstrate the value of diversity.

Board




Emily Chen

President

chenem@seas.upenn.edu

Vasiliki Papanikolopou

VP of External Affairs

vpap@seas.upenn.edu

Hayley Williamson

VP of Internal Affairs

hayleywi@seas.upenn.edu

Allison Higgins

Finance Director

ahigg@seas.upenn.edu

Pooja Khandekar

Communications Director

kpooja@seas.upenn.edu

Lina Huang

Technology Director

hlina@seas.upenn.edu

Shannon Toole

Activities Co-Director

stoole@seas.upenn.edu

Emily Pugh

Activities Co-Director

epugh@seas.upenn.edu

Nova Fallen

Corporate Dinner Co-Director

nfallen@seas.upenn.edu

Meghavi Talati

Corporate Dinner Co-Director

mtalati@seas.upenn.edu

Vatsala Goyal

Educational Outreach Co-Director

vatsala@seas.upenn.edu

Wanda Lipps

Educational Outreach Co-Director

wlipps@seas.upenn.edu

Sindura Chaparala

GEARS Day Co-Directors

sindura@seas.upenn.edu

Rachel Hoying

GEARS Day Co-Directors

rhoying@seas.upenn.edu

Kate Miller

Region Collegiate Representative

katmill@seas.upenn.edu

Danielle Bassett, PhD

Faculty Advisor

dsb@seas.upenn.edu